Reps. Faris, Hovey-Wright, Pagan and Sarah Roberts offered the following resolution: **House Resolution No. 151.**

A resolution to declare September 22, 2015, as Youth Consent Day in the state of Michigan.

Whereas, One in four women, at least 4% of men and over 40% of members of the LGBT community enrolled in a Michigan college or university will be sexually assaulted during their time as a student; and

Whereas, An estimated 61% of sexual assaults are not reported; and

Whereas, Young female victims of nonconsensual sexual acts are more likely to experience depression, self-blame, and alcohol and/or drug abuse; and

Whereas, Despite the existence of nationwide sexual assault prevention programs and passage of The Campus Sexual Violence Elimination (SaVE) Act by Congress, there is no Michigan-specific awareness day or campaign focusing on the issue and importance of consent; and

Whereas, Sexual assault education among undergraduates has been shown to increase bystander intervention to prevent sexual assault, improve outcomes for individuals at risk, and increase opposition to rape; and

Whereas, Approximately 80% of sexual assaults among college-age females are committed by someone known to the victim and, the closer the relationship between the victim and offender, the less likely the rape will be reported; and

Whereas, Sexual assault victimizations of students are more likely than nonstudent victimizations to go unreported to police; and

Whereas, Sexual assaults on college campuses are most likely to occur during the first three months of the school year, and, in Michigan, nonconsensual sexual activity is equivalent to sexual assault; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That the members of this legislative body declare September 22, 2015, as Youth Consent Day in the state of Michigan; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the Michigan Senate, the Governor of the State of Michigan, Alpena Community College Office of the President, Bay College Office of the President, Central Michigan University Dean of Students, Delta College Office of the President, Eastern Michigan University Women's Resource Center, Ferris State University Office of Student Life, Glen Oaks Community College Office of the President, Gogebic Community College Office of the President, Grand Rapids Community College Office of the President, Grand Valley State University Women's Center, Henry Ford College Office of the President, Jackson College Office of the President, Kalamazoo Valley Community College Office of the President, Kellogg Community College Office of the President, Kirtland Community College Office of the President, Lake Michigan College Office of the President, Lake Superior State University Office of Student Affairs, Lansing Community College Office of the President, Macomb Community College Office of the President, Michigan State University Counseling Center, Michigan Technological University Center for Diversity and Inclusion, Mid Michigan Community College Office of the President, Monroe County Community College Office of the President, Montcalm Community College Office of the President, Mott Community College Office of the President, Muskegon Community College Office of the President, North Central Michigan College Office of the President, Northern Michigan University Equal Opportunity Office, Northwestern Michigan College Office of the President, Oakland Community College Office of the Chancellor,

Oakland University Dean of Students, Saginaw Valley State University Office of Diversity Programs, Schoolcraft College Office of the President, Southwestern Michigan College Office of the President, St. Clair County Community College Office of the President, University of Michigan Sexual Assault Prevention and Awareness Center, Washtenaw Community College Office of the President, Wayne County Community College District Office of the President, Wayne State University Office of Equal Opportunity, West Shore Community College Office of the President, and the Western Michigan University Office of Health Promotion and Education.