HOUSE BILL No. 5406

February 16, 2012, Introduced by Rep. Heise and referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

A bill to amend 1961 PA 236, entitled

"Revised judicature act of 1961,"

by amending section 8121 (MCL 600.8121), as amended by 2011 PA 300.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:

Sec. 8121. (1) The sixteenth district consists of the city of
 Livonia, is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

3 (2) The seventeenth district consists of the township of
4 Redford in the county of Wayne, is a district of the third class,
5 and has 2 judges.

6 (3) The EXCEPT AS OTHERWISE PROVIDED IN THIS SUBSECTION, THE 7 eighteenth district consists of the city of Westland, is a district 8 of the third class, and has 2 judges. IF THE CITY OF WESTLAND AND 9 THE CITY OF WAYNE APPROVE BY RESOLUTION OF THEIR LEGISLATIVE BODIES 10 THE REFORMATION OF THE EIGHTEENTH DISTRICT AND THE ABOLITION OF THE

TLG

TWENTY-NINTH DISTRICT BY LAW, THE EIGHTEEN DISTRICT CONSISTS OF THE
 CITY OF WESTLAND AND THE CITY OF WAYNE, IS A DISTRICT OF THE THIRD
 CLASS, AND HAS 3 JUDGES EFFECTIVE JANUARY 2, 2013.

4 (4) The nineteenth district consists of the city of Dearborn,
5 is a district of the third class, and has 3 judges.

6 (5) The twentieth district consists of the city of Dearborn
7 Heights, is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

8 (6) The twenty-first district consists of the city of Garden9 City, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

10 (7) The twenty-second district consists of the city of11 Inkster, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

12 (8) The twenty-third district consists of the city of Taylor,13 is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

14 (9) The twenty-fourth district consists of the cities of Allen
15 Park and Melvindale, is a district of the third class, and has 2
16 judges.

17 (10) The twenty-fifth district consists of the city of Lincoln Park, is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges. Beginning 18 19 April 1, 2012, the twenty-fifth district consists of the cities of 20 Ecorse, Lincoln Park, and River Rouge, is a district of the third class, and has 3 judges. The additional judgeship in the twenty-21 fifth district shall be filled by the incumbent judge of the 22 twenty-sixth district, who shall become a judge of the twenty-fifth 23 24 district for the balance of the term to which he or she was elected or appointed. Sections 8175 and 8176 do not apply to the April 1, 25 2012 reformation of the twenty-fifth district. 26

27

(11) The twenty-sixth district consists of the cities of River

05177'12

TLG

2

Rouge and Ecorse, is a district of the third class, and has 1
 judge. Beginning on April 1, 2012, the twenty-sixth district is
 abolished and the judge of the twenty-sixth district shall become a
 judge of the twenty-fifth district for the balance of the term to
 which he or she was elected or appointed.

6 (12) The twenty-seventh district consists of the cities of
7 Wyandotte and Riverview, is a district of the third class, and has
8 1 judge.

9 (13) The twenty-eighth district consists of the city of10 Southgate, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

11 (14) The EXCEPT AS OTHERWISE PROVIDED IN THIS SUBSECTION, THE 12 twenty-ninth district consists of the city of Wayne, is a district 13 of the third class, and has 1 judge. IF THE CITY OF WESTLAND AND 14 THE CITY OF WAYNE APPROVE BY RESOLUTION OF THEIR LEGISLATIVE BODIES 15 THE REFORMATION OF THE EIGHTEENTH DISTRICT AND THE ABOLITION OF THE 16 TWENTY-NINTH DISTRICT BY LAW, THE TWENTY-NINTH DISTRICT IS 17 ABOLISHED EFFECTIVE JANUARY 2, 2013.

18 (15) The thirtieth district consists of the city of Highland19 Park, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

20 (16) The thirty-first district consists of the city of
21 Hamtramck, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

(17) The thirty-second-a district consists of the city of
Harper Woods, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.
(18) The thirty-second-b district consists of the cities of
Grosse Pointe Woods, Grosse Pointe Park, Grosse Pointe, and Grosse
Pointe Farms, and the village of Grosse Pointe Shores, is a
district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

05177'12

TLG

(19) The thirty-third district consists of the cities of
 Trenton, Gibraltar, Woodhaven, Rockwood, and Flat Rock and the
 townships of Brownstown and Grosse Ile in the county of Wayne, is a
 district of the third class, and has 3 judges.

4

5 (20) The thirty-fourth district consists of the townships of
6 Sumpter, Van Buren, and Huron in the county of Wayne and the cities
7 of Romulus and Belleville, is a district of the third class, and
8 has 3 judges.

9 (21) The thirty-fifth district consists of the cities of
10 Northville and Plymouth and the townships of Northville, Plymouth,
11 and Canton in the county of Wayne, is a district of the third
12 class, and has 3 judges.

05177'12