Rep. Miller offered the following resolution:

## House Resolution No. 423.

A resolution to memorialize the United States Congress to close the Guantanamo Bay detention center.

Whereas, Since 2002, the United States has held suspected terrorists at the Guantanamo Bay Naval Station in Cuba. The American base has existed for over a century, since the Spanish-American War; and

Whereas, While the establishment of the detention facility following Operation Enduring Freedom, which overthrew the Taliban regime of Afghanistan that harbored the al Qaeda 9/11 attackers, may have been expedient, it is long past the time when we should close this facility. For six years, we have failed to regularize the procedures for holding prisoners captured in the war on terror, in accordance with our laws and international standards for holding prisoners of war; and

Whereas, International outcry against the Guantanamo Bay detention facility has harmed our image and tarnished our reputation for respecting the rule of law. Accusations of harsh treatment or even torture of detainees are routinely made, and much of the world believes we operate a gulag outside the reach of American law or international treaty obligations. We should close down the detention facility and erase the image we have created; and

Whereas, The prisoners held in Guantanamo Bay must not be held in a facility walled off from our established system of justice. With fewer than 300 prisoners held in Cuba, processing and judging these prisoners in our current civilian courts would hardly be a burden on our system. In a global struggle against terrorism, we need the goodwill and respect that following our established court processes will foster. We must not risk our reputation and good name over a flawed prison; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That we memorialize the United States Congress to close the Guantanamo Bay detention center; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and the members of the Michigan congressional delegation.