Rep. Mayes offered the following resolution:

House Resolution No. 397.

A resolution to memorialize the Congress of the United States to override the President's veto of the federal farm bill.

Whereas, For decades, the federal farm bill has guaranteed the continued production of a stable and affordable food supply for our nation. The farm bill strikes a solid balance between supporting farmers, maintaining an affordable home-grown food supply, encouraging the protection of the environment, and making food available and ensuring adequate nutrition for every American family and child; and

Whereas, The current federal farm bill, the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008, continues this long tradition of federal support and recognition of the critical role played by our nation's farmers. The \$307 billion bill would provide an additional \$40 billion for farm subsidies, including subsidies for fruits, vegetables, and other crops overlooked in previous farm bills. Michigan is second only to California in the production of these specialty crops. It would ensure that the United States continues to enjoy a safe, stable, abundant, and affordable food supply for the next five years; and

Whereas, On June 18, 2008, President Bush vetoed the federal farm bill despite overwhelming support in both chambers of Congress. This short-sighted action would place farms in jeopardy throughout the nation and deny relief to families in the face of skyrocketing food prices. Two-thirds of the bill is dedicated towards critical nutrition programs, such as food stamps and emergency food aid. In addition, the bill would expand programs that make fresh fruits and vegetables available to schoolchildren; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, That we memorialize the Congress of the United States to override the President's veto of the federal farm bill; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and the members of the Michigan congressional delegation.