SENATE BILL NO. 258

February 3, 1999, Introduced by Senator BULLARD and referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

A bill to amend 1961 PA 236, entitled

"Revised judicature act of 1961,"

by amending section 8123 (MCL 600.8123), as amended by 1990 PA 54.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:

Sec. 8123. (1) The forty-third district consists of the
 cities of Madison Heights, Ferndale, and Hazel Park, is a dis trict of the third class, and has 3 judges. Subject to either
 section 8177 or 8178, this district shall be consolidated with
 the fifty-second district and become the fifth division effective
 January 2, 1991.

7 (2) The forty-fourth district consists of the city of Royal8 Oak, is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

9 (3) The forty-fifth-a district consists of the city of10 Berkley, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

00018'99

DRM

Subject to either section 8177 or 8178, this district shall be
 consolidated with the fifty-second district and become the sixth
 division effective January 2, 1991.

4 (4) The forty-fifth-b district consists of the cities of
5 Huntington Woods, Oak Park, and Pleasant Ridge and the township
6 of Royal Oak in the county of Oakland, is a district of the third
7 class, and has 2 judges. Subject to either section 8177 or
8 8178, this district shall be consolidated with the fifty-second
9 district and become the seventh division effective January 1,
10 1991.

11 (5) The forty-sixth district consists of the cities of
12 Southfield and Lathrup Village and the township of Southfield in
13 the county of Oakland, is a district of the third class, and has
14 3 judges.

15 (6) The forty-seventh district consists of the cities of 16 Farmington and Farmington Hills, is a district of the third 17 class, and has 2 judges. Subject to section 8175, this district 18 may have 1 additional judge effective January 1, -1991- 2001. 19 If a new office of judge is added to this district to be filled 20 by election in 1990, the term of office of the judge for that 21 election only shall be 4 years.

(7) The forty-eighth district consists of the cities of Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Sylvan Lake, Keego Harbor, and Orchard Lake Village and the townships of Bloomfield and West Bloomfield in the county of Oakland, is a district of the third class, and has 3 judges. <u>Subject to section 8175, this district</u> may have 1 additional judge effective January 1, 1993.

00018'99

2

(8) The fiftieth district consists of the city of Pontiac,
 2 is a district of the third class, and has 4 judges.

3 (9) The fifty-first district consists of the township of
4 Waterford in the county of Oakland, is a district of the third
5 class, and has 2 judges.

6 (10) Except as otherwise provided by this subsection the
7 THE fifty-second district consists of the county of Oakland
8 except the cities of Madison Heights, Ferndale, Hazel Park, Royal
9 Oak, Berkley, Huntington Woods, Oak Park, Pleasant Ridge,
10 Southfield, Lathrup Village, Farmington, Farmington Hills,
11 Northville, Sylvan Lake, Keego Harbor, Orchard Lake Village,
12 Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, and Pontiac and the townships of
13 Royal Oak, Southfield, West Bloomfield, Bloomfield, and
14 Waterford, is a district of the second class, and is divided into
15 the following election divisions:

16 (a) The first division consists of the cities of Novi, South
17 Lyon, Wixom, and Walled Lake and the townships of Milford,
18 Highland, Rose, White Lake, Commerce, Lyon, and Novi and has 3
19 judges. Subject to section 8175, this division may have 1 addi20 tional judge effective January 1, 1991.

(b) The second division consists of the townships of
22 Springfield, Independence, Holly, Groveland, and Brandon and has
23 1 judge.

(c) The third division consists of the cities of Rochester,
Auburn Hills, Rochester Hills, and Lake Angelus and the townships
of Oxford, Addison, Orion, and Oakland and has -2 - 3 judges.

3

Subject to section 8175, this division may have 1 additional
 judge effective January 2, 1989.

3 (d) The fourth division consists of the cities of Troy and4 Clawson and has 3 judges.

(e) Subject to either section 8177 or 8178, effective
January 1, 1991, the fifth division shall consist of the cities
of Madison Heights, Ferndale, and Hazel Park, and have 3 judges.
(f) Subject to either section 8177 or 8178, effective
January 2, 1991, the sixth division shall consist of the city of
Berkley, and have 1 judge.
(g) Subject to either section 8177 or 8178, effective
January 2, 1991, the section 8177 or 8178, effective

13 of Huntington Woods, Oak Park, and Pleasant Ridge and the town-

14 ship of Royal Oak in the county of Oakland, and have 2 judges.

4