Senator Anderson offered the following resolution:

Senate Resolution No. 118.

A resolution to memorialize Congress to exempt Michigan from provisions of the federal unemployment program that are ending extended benefits for thousands of Michigan citizens.

Whereas, Up to 29,500 unemployed Michiganians will be affected by an abrupt end in the extended benefits (EB) funding. This end of unemployment benefits is being triggered by set thresholds of unemployment levels in the state; and

Whereas, This cut in federal funding could negatively affect the state's economic recovery and leave many Michigan families without assistance or aid during dire times; and

Whereas, Michigan has shown improvement in its unemployment rate as of late, but still requires aid from the EB program; and

Whereas, Approximately 268,924 Michiganians are receiving unemployment benefits; and

Whereas, Michigan has the tenth-highest rate of unemployment among all of the states in the nation; and

Whereas, Determination of Michigan's ineligibility for EB benefits was based on the total unemployment rate; and

Whereas, The rules governing eligibility are based on the state's previous total unemployment rate over a three-year period. That is, the current total unemployment rate must be 10 percent higher than that of the previous three-year period; and

Whereas, This measure unfairly disadvantages Michigan, which has had a significantly higher rate of unemployment for many consecutive years; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate, That we memorialize Congress to take immediate action to keep Michigan in the federal extended benefits program in order that Michigan continue to receive this extended unemployment benefits funding past February 18, 2012, since it is evident that Michigan still requires federal EB funding, despite the total unemployment rate determination criteria outlined above; and be it further

Resolved, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and the members of the Michigan congressional delegation.