HOUSE BILL No. 5160

November 10, 2011, Introduced by Rep. Lund and referred to the Committee on Redistricting and Elections.

A bill to amend 1961 PA 236, entitled "Revised judicature act of 1961,"

by amending section 302 (MCL 600.302), as amended by 2001 PA 117.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:

- 1 Sec. 302. (1) The state is divided into 4 judicial districts
- 2 for the election of judges of the court of appeals. Each district
- 3 is entitled to 7 judges. The EXCEPT AS OTHERWISE PROVIDED IN
- 4 SUBSECTION (2), THE districts are constituted and numbered as
- 5 follows:
- 6 (a) District 1 consists of the counties of Calhoun, Hillsdale,
- Lenawee, Monroe, and Wayne.
 - (b) District 2 consists of the counties of Genesee, Macomb,
- 9 Oakland, and Shiawassee.
 - (c) District 3 consists of the counties of Allegan, Barry,

00206'11 KHS

- 1 Berrien, Branch, Cass, Eaton, Ionia, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent,
- 2 Muskegon, Newaygo, Ottawa, St. Joseph, Van Buren, and Washtenaw.
- 3 (d) District 4 consists of the counties of Alcona, Alger,
- 4 Alpena, Antrim, Arenac, Baraga, Bay, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan,
- 5 Chippewa, Clare, Clinton, Crawford, Delta, Dickinson, Emmet,
- 6 Gladwin, Gogebic, Grand Traverse, Gratiot, Houghton, Huron, Ingham,
- 7 Iosco, Iron, Isabella, Kalkaska, Keweenaw, Lake, Lapeer, Leelanau,
- 8 Livingston, Luce, Mackinac, Manistee, Marquette, Mason, Mecosta,
- 9 Menominee, Midland, Missaukee, Montcalm, Montmorency, Oceana,
- 10 Ogemaw, Ontonagon, Osceola, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle,
- 11 Roscommon, Saginaw, Sanilac, Schoolcraft, St. Clair, Tuscola, and
- 12 Wexford.
- 13 (2) BEGINNING ON THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE AMENDATORY ACT THAT
- 14 ADDED THIS SUBSECTION, THE DISTRICTS ARE CONSTITUTED AND NUMBERED
- 15 AS FOLLOWS:
- 16 (A) DISTRICT 1 CONSISTS OF THE COUNTIES OF BARRY, CALHOUN,
- 17 HILLSDALE, JACKSON, LENAWEE, MONROE, AND WAYNE.
- 18 (B) DISTRICT 2 CONSISTS OF THE COUNTIES OF GENESEE, MACOMB,
- 19 AND OAKLAND.
- 20 (C) DISTRICT 3 CONSISTS OF THE COUNTIES OF ALLEGAN, BENZIE,
- 21 BERRIEN, BRANCH, CASS, CLARE, CRAWFORD, EATON, GLADWIN, IONIA,
- 22 ISABELLA, KALAMAZOO, KALKASKA, KENT, LAKE, MANISTEE, MASON,
- 23 MECOSTA, MISSAUKEE, MONTCALM, MUSKEGON, NEWAGO, OCEANA, OGEMAW,
- 24 OSCEOLA, OTTAWA, ROSCOMMON, ST. JOSEPH, AND VAN BUREN.
- 25 (D) DISTRICT 4 CONSISTS OF THE COUNTIES OF ALCONA, ALGER,
- 26 ALPENA, ANTRIM, ARENAC, BARAGA, BAY, CHARLEVOIX, CHEBOYGAN,
- 27 CHIPPEWA, CLINTON, DELTA, DICKINSON, EMMET, GOGEBIC, GRAND

00206'11 KHS

- 1 TRAVERSE, GRATIOT, HOUGHTON, HURON, INGHAM, IOSCO, IRON, KEWEENAW,
- 2 LAPEER, LEELANAU, LIVINGSTON, LUCE, MACKINAC, MARQUETTE, MENOMINEE,
- 3 MIDLAND, MONTMORENCY, ONTONAGON, OSCODA, OTSEGO, PRESQUE ISLE,
- 4 SAGINAW, SANILAC, SCHOOLCRAFT, SHIAWASSEE, ST. CLAIR, TUSCOLA,
- 5 WASHTENAW, AND WEXFORD.