

HOUSE BILL No. 5028

October 26, 1999, Introduced by Reps. Richardville, Pappageorge, Rocca, Patterson, Toy, Kowall, Mortimer, Garcia, Allen, Woronchak, Bisbee, DeRossett, Hager, Faunce, Bradstreet, Van Woerkom, Shackleton, Gilbert, Julian, Tabor, Voorhees, Schermesser, DeHart, Rivet, Vander Roest, Caul, Bovin, Mans, Spade, Woodward and Vear and referred to the Committee on Veterans Affairs.

A bill to designate the part of highway I-75 located in Monroe county as the "Michigan's Congressional Medal of Honor Recipient Highway"; and to prescribe certain duties of the state transportation department.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:

- 1 The part of highway I-75 located in Monroe county
- 2 shall be known as the "Michigan's Congressional Medal of Honor
- (1) The state transportation department shall only
- 5 provide for the erection of markers described in subsections (2)
- 6 and (3) when 1 or both of the following occur:
- (a) The department erects new signage to replace old signage
- 8 in the course of ordinary maintenance.
- (b) Sufficient private contributions are received to pay the
- 2 shall be known as the "Michigan
 3 Recipient Highway".
 4 Sec. 2. (1) The state trans
 5 provide for the erection of mark
 6 and (3) when 1 or both of the for
 7 (a) The department erects in
 8 in the course of ordinary mainter
 9 (b) Sufficient private control
 10 cost of erecting those markers.

03255'99 *** SAT

- 1 (2) The state transportation department shall erect 1 marker
- 2 at each approach to the part of the highway described in section
- 3 1 that is located at the limits of Monroe county on northbound
- 4 and southbound I-75. These markers shall include language that
- 5 is the same as or similar to the following:
- 6 "Michigan's Congressional Medal of Honor Recipient
- 7 Highway".
- 8 (3) The state transportation department shall erect a single
- 9 marker at or near the welcome center that is accessed by north-
- 10 bound I-75 in Monroe county. The marker shall contain language
- 11 that identifies by name each of Michigan's congressional medal of
- 12 honor recipients.